Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Album Review: Skull Practitioners - Death Buy EP

Skull Practitioners 
Death Buy EP
*** out of *****

The NYC based noise rock trio Skull Practitioners have played off and on for the last few years, but have not released an official album, that is coming later this year, and they celebrate that with the Death Buy EP which previews their fierce sound.

The tracks are a mix of experimental instrumentals, punk pounding and dreamy escapism. The players, guitarist Jason Victor, bassist Kenneth Levine and drummer Alex Baker can get both tight and loose with equal fuzzy ease. The grimy four song offering starts with the clanging instrumental title track recalling older garage bands with an air of experimental freedom. 

The punk influence is amplified for the driving "Grey No More" with its shout-able chorus and a ripping guitar solo from Victor which cooks with high octane fuel before the Gun Club and Butthole Surfers influence comes out for bass and drum lead track "The Beacon". 

The brief EP wraps up with "Miami" which stretches the bands scope as the over ten minute track is hypnotic with repetitive bass, flair like guitar lines, distortion, warbling effects and dreamy asides. The combo presented on this short but sweet offering makes the upcoming full length highly desired by these ears as Skull Practitioners are converting their studies to success. 
Support the band (NYC readers their EP release party is Friday at Gran Torino in Brooklyn), buy the EP, stream the record and peep some video below:

No comments:

Post a Comment