Friday, March 31, 2023

Full Show Friday: Big Daddy Kane - Instagram Live 4/19/2020

We search the murky back waters of youtube to find full concerts and post them to the site weekly, come back every seven days to help us celebrate Full Show Friday's. These shows are of varying quality and may not be here for long so enjoy them while you can...As always, please support the artist every which way, but especially by seeing them live (if they are still playing)...This week...Big Daddy Kane!

We started the month with a Tiny Desk Concert and we end with an Instagram live set from the legendary Big Daddy Kane.

Full set list and more below. Enjoy: 

Big Daddy Kane performed a 30 minute concert on Instagram Live with over 7,000 people watching on April 19, 2020. He performed 15 classics, with great timing and sound quality. In case you missed it or want to watch it again, this is a great performance. Enjoy! Set List: Big Daddy Kane feat. Biz Markie - 'Just Rhymin' With Biz' Big Daddy Kane - 'Set It Off' Marley Marl feat. Big Daddy Kane, Masta Ace, Craig G, Kool G Rap - 'The Symphony' Big Daddy Kane - 'Smooth Operator' Big Daddy Kane - 'Let's Get It On' Big Daddy Kane - 'I Get The Job Done' Big Daddy Kane - 'Young, Gifted And Black' Big Daddy Kane - 'Wrath of Kane' Big Daddy Kane - 'Warm It Up, Kane' Big Daddy Kane - 'Mortal Combat' Big Daddy Kane - 'Raw (Edit)' Big Daddy Kane - 'Ain't No Half Steppin' Big L feat. Big Daddy Kane - 'Platinum Plus' Big Daddy Kane - 'Lean On Me' Big Daddy Kane - '???'

Thursday, March 30, 2023

Album Review: Andrew Gabbard - Cedar City Sweetheart

Hey all, got a review up @glidemag which you can read Right C'here!

It is of Andrew Gabbard's second solo album, Cedar City Sweetheart.

A very Byrds inspired, Americana offering from Gabbard this go around.

Support the artist, buy the album,  read the review and peep some video below:

Happy Opening Day!

 I see great things in baseball.  It's our game - the American game.  It will take our people out-of-doors, fill them with oxygen, give them a larger physical stoicism.  Tend to relieve us from being a nervous, dyspeptic set.  Repair these losses, and be a blessing to us.  

~Walt Whitman

RtBE is here to wish you a Happy Opening Day! If you want to read a great piece about baseball check out this excerpt from Roger Angell's The Summer Game

Opening Day should be a national holiday, plain and simple. Once winter is gone (at least officially), Baseball can never arrive soon enough. Here's hoping your favorite team wins, especially if you are a fellow Mets fan. Let's Go Mets!

We know the ghost of Steve Goodman is rooting for those Cubbies though...

Here are some more baseball inspired tunes to start the magical day, when we are all in first place:

Wednesday, March 29, 2023

Run The Jewels Announce Tenth Anniversary Tour

The hip-hop duo Run The Jewels have announced RTJX the tenth anniversary tour from the band. 

El-P and Killer Mike will hit four cities, for four nights each and play each one of their four albums each night for a total of 16 shows. A pretty cool idea.  RtBE are big fans of RTJ, having reviewed their last three albums and caught them live twice already, even ranking RTJ4 the album of the year in 2020

For more info check out their site and peep some video below:

Album Review: Dick Stusso - S.P.

Hey all, got a review up @glidemag which you can read Right C'here!

It is of Dick Stusso's most recent release, S.P. on Hardly Art Records. 

If you don't know Stusso (real artist Oakland based Nic Russo) I think this line from the review sums it up:
The real crux of Dick Stusso this go around lies in his lo-fi, dirtbag mashup of Father John Misty and Stereopathetic Soulmanure era Beck.
If that floats your boat, support the artist, buy the album, read the full review and peep some video below:

Tuesday, March 28, 2023

Jo Bartlett Delivers First Solo Single with "I Waited A Year"

The folktronica artist Jo Bartlett (half of It's Jo and Danny) goes solo with her first single "I Waited A Year"

The Welsh artist, who started the Green Man Festival, continues with her sounds and got inspiration from sleepless summer nights. Check out the track below and more here:

Live Review: Jesse Malin & Friends, Fantastic Cat @ Webster Hall, NYC 3/25/23

Hey all, got a review up @glidemag which you can read Right C'here!

It is of Jesse Malin and Friends recent show at Webster Hall Saturday night, which celebrated the 20th anniversary of his solo debut The Art of Self Destruction. The show also had RtBE favorite Fantastic Cat opening. 

Check out the review over on Glide, support all of the acts and peep some video from the show below: