Friday, May 14, 2021

Full Show Friday: Dire Straits - Live in 85

We search the murky back waters of youtube to find full concerts and post them to the site weekly, come back every seven days to help us celebrate Full Show Friday's. These shows are of varying quality and may not be here for long so enjoy them while you can...As always, please support the artist every which way, but especially by seeing them live (if they are still playing)...This week...Dire Straits!

Today we head to London's Wembley Arena back in 1985 for the Brothers In Arms Tour from Dire Straits

Speaking of Wembley, Chelsea play Leicester City in the FA Cup final tomorrow and here's hoping the Blues trounce the Foxes and lift the first of possibly two cups this year. Back to Dire Straits...

This is the band in their prime. Pro Shot, Pro Sound, full set list below. Enjoy:

01. So far away [0:00:00​]​ 
02. Sultans of Swing [0:04:46​]​ 
03. Why worry [0:16:10​]​ 
04. Intro Money for nothing [0:21:17​]​ 
05. Money for nothing [0:22:57​] 
06. Private investigations [0:28:05​]​ 
07. Walk of life [0:35:25​]​ 
08. Carousel Waltz — intro Tunnel of Love [0:39:33​]​ 
09. Tunnel of Love [0:43:04​] 
10. Solid Rock [0:55:54​] feat Nils Lofgren​ 
11. Brothers in arms [1:00:25​]​ 
12. The man´s too strong [1:08:18​]​ 
13. Introduction Hank B. Marvin [1:12:47​]​ 
14. Going Home / Local Hero [1:14:02​] feat Hank B. Marvin 

*** Dire Straits Wembley Arena, London, UK 10th July 1985 
*** The Band: Mark Knopfler : lead guitar, lead vocals ; Jack Sonni : guitar ; John Illsley : bass ; Alan Clark : keyboards ; Guy Fletcher : keyboards ; Terry Williams : drums ; Chris White : saxophone.
 *** Video containing the famous concert from Wembley 1985. Great show of the Brothers in arms tour, containing powerful versions. Nice to see the two guest players Nils Lofgren and Hank B. Marvin. Picture and sound quality are both very good. The picture is taken from probably one of the best preserved VHS tapes available and the sound is taken from the best sounding audio soundboard bootleg (Perfect Investigations), except for the songs Tunnel of Love, Solid rock and Going Home but which still have good sound.

No comments:

Post a Comment